Simple Yet Errr.. Ineffective!

This post is a plea! I love to bake, both with the children and without. We had a cake making session at the weekend which was our first for a while, and I have to confess I’d forgotten how much fun it is, just hanging out with my (getting bigger very quickly) babies. They’re so independent now with cooking – it takes about 10 times as long and produces about 500 times as much mess, but when I say ‘we’ baked, it really was a case of ‘they’ baked – my role was merely to ensure that the tasks were  fairly distributed! Digressing slightly, is it just my children who crack eggs by kind of crushing them in their hands?! I’ve tried to show them what I see as a more effective way but somehow their method never changes and bizarrely, egg shell in the mix is a very rare occurrence – I’m not sure how!

Anyway, we had a lovely morning baking and even clearing away, and decorated the cake in the afternoon – sprinkles are compulsory you know!

I also always make the children’s and hubby’s birthday cakes, trying to accomplish whatever they are obsessed with at the time in sugar paste (actually that translates as ‘head over to Pinterest and see how people far more able than I am did it!’), but with varying degrees of success. I could honestly see some of my creations ending up on that ‘how it looked on Pinterest’ website! My daughter’s BFF’s mum is a professional cake decorator and so I think my days of being able to make her cakes are numbered. I’m constantly waiting for “Mummy, just get Emma to make it!” nowadays!

The fact is, I always like to try, and sometimes my baking exploits don’t look quite right, but usually they taste ok – that is with one exception. Supposedly one of the simplest sweet treats to make, I have never, in all of my 36 years managed to produce edible flapjacks!

Flapjacks are a top treat for my 2 but whenever we try to make them they’re always an epic fail! Occasionally they’re so hard that we risk breaking our teeth on them, but more often than not they just fall apart more resembling granola! Just tried fiddling with the quantities of the different ingredients, cooking time, oven temperature, you name it I’ve tried it, but to no avail. So what am I doing wrong?! Any tips or idiot proof recipes appreciated – you’ll be making two constantly hungry children incredibly happy!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Louise (Little Hearts, Big Love)
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 08:05:09

    I love all your different cake creations – they look fab to me. I’m impressed by your children not getting egg shell in the mix in spite of their interesting technique for cracking eggs. Sadly I can’t offer any tips with the flapjacks – I’ve only made them a few times myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

