Box Addiction?

There are many women who love hitting the shops with their friends for a fun day. I’m not one of those women. At the other end of the spectrum, there are those who couldn’t think of anything worse than hitting the shops for a day. I am also not one of those women – I don’t fear it and I love getting new things, I just see ‘going shopping’ as a task that has to be done rather than a hobby – perhaps this makes it even worse!

However, one thing I’ve discovered that I adore is getting lovely treats delivered to my home in the form of variously sized boxes! It doesn’t seem to matter what arrives in the boxes as it all started when I began getting a veg box! Shortly after we relocated, a flyer came through the door advertising locally grown vegetables delivered straight to my door – I managed to persuade my husband that this was clearly something we needed – he wasn’t so sure but I did it anyway and I just loved it straight away – partly because I was supporting a local business and partly because of the element of surprise. There are so many vegetables that I now love that I would never have chosen when I visited the supermarket.

The veg box gave me the bug, but since then I have subscribed to graze – I look forward to my weekly box in the way I looked forward to Christmas as a child! I also have my weekly magazine subscription which I could just as easily go and buy from the shop around the corner, but somehow getting in from work and seeing it on the mat waiting for me is so satisfying – I never peek at the email to see what I’m getting, that’s like opening your birthday presents before the big day!

Most recently, after months of resisting, I finally subscribed to Birchbox. I kept telling myself I know what beauty products I like, I definitely didn’t need this box, but I was so wrong – I’ve just received my second box and I definitely need this box in my life! Even after just 2 boxes, I’ve discovered the foot cream and face scrub I’ve been looking for all my life – first world problems hey?!

I’m not sure if it’s possible to have an addiction to mail order boxes but if it is I think I’m on the brink! It’s like I’m giving myself a little gift every month as I still get the surprise element as I open it – sometimes I forget I’m actually paying for the privilege – I must remember this before I subscribe to anything else!

IMG_1617

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. (Mostly) Yummy Mummy
    Oct 12, 2015 @ 19:06:11

    This really made me smile! I’m a big fan of happy post myself as you know 😉

    Reply

  2. Ashley
    Dec 11, 2015 @ 17:17:25

    I love getting things in the mail, which is why I liked getting my first subscription box (graze). I agree though, shopping can seem like a task sometimes, especially if you need a specific item and can’t leave until you find it.

    Ashley
    https://ithinkitsashley.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

