Together Time…

One of the best decisions we ever made was to join the National Trust. I love looking round the houses – I always try to imagine what i must’ve been like to actually live there and come home with intentions to dig out my old Jane Austen novels and catch up on Downton Abbey (I feel like I’m the only person in the world still on Series 2)! However, much as I like the houses, the main reason I love the National Trust is because they ensure quality family time. I find it quite funny that my children don’t think of going for a nice walk when the weather is nice so much, they equate family walks with wrapping up warm, taking a thermos of tomato soup and wellies. In the summer months, we tend to spend time outside exploring new places, on beaches, forests, and a lot more with friends. I blogged last week about how we were surprised to get a bit more nice weather, so we decided to spend last weekend at Tyntesfield – about an hour away from where we live, but somewhere we had never been.

At the moment, the children seem exhausted at the end of a week at school so it’s very tempting to have a ‘lazy’ day, but I find the children get even more cranky when they’re at home and tired so this was perfect – an hour sitting in the car, so they could have a little doze if they wanted and then a big burst of fresh air. The weather was gorgeous for October, we were wandering around without coats, and even managed a picnic! There was also a Farmer’s Market on and it would’ve been rude to walk past toffee chocolate cupcakes without buying 1 or 4!

It didn’t really matter if we were salivating looking at all the yummy food, having our picnic, walking around, talking Daddy into giving piggy backs, marvelling at how beautiful Autumn is, or just talking to each other while doing all of these things, the fact is we were together, enjoying quality time with each other, no distractions. In a household where we have very busy weekdays, our weekends are sacrosanct – they are for family time and we always try to enjoy it to the full!

I’m joining up with #CountryKids as usual this week, and looking forward to heading over to Fiona’s blog at Coombe Mill to get some inspiration for more outdoor fun!

th_Country_Kids_badge_transparent

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Raising Mighty Girls
    Oct 11, 2015 @ 12:43:14

    I keep threatening to join the National Trust and still haven’t managed to do it! You’ve given me the nudge to go do it now. Thanks! #countrykids with #coombemill

    Reply

  2. Sara (@mumturnedmom)
    Oct 12, 2015 @ 17:06:52

    Looks like you had a wonderful day. I really miss NT properties, haven’t really found the same sort of places here at all. And I agree, my kids are much happier if we get out for a bit too πŸ™‚ #countrykids

    Reply

  3. Coombe Mill (Fiona) (@coombemill)
    Oct 13, 2015 @ 22:47:29

    I totally agree with your sentiment here, why is it that tired cranky kids are worse relaxing at home than distracted out in the fresh air? We too have National Trust membership and I really wish we had bought it when our kids were younger as you have, the play areas and gardens are perfect for running freely and it does make family days you remember for years to come. thank you for sharing your family time with me on Country Kids.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

