A Breath of Fresh Air

Well I’m a little bit late posting this, I can’t believe how much going to work has interrupted my routine (or lack of!) this week! I always find going back to school after Christmas really hard. After all the fun of Christmas I turn into a child again and would be quite happy for it to go on and on. Waking up at 9am becomes the norm and you start to wonder how on earth you’re going to be able to wake up at 6am ever again! But all too soon that dreaded first Monday in January comes around along with the dreaded alarm going off at silly o’clock, routine sets in again and by 9am it suddenly feels like Christmas never even happened!

Despite the mad rushing around and the horrible weather we still made every effort to get a bit of fresh air – I so wish I’d remembered to take a photo of my daughter scooting to ballet in the dark wearing her purple leotard and tutu – it was quite a sight, but as it had been raining all day, wet play and lunch at school we thought we’d take the longer route!

We had a lovely walk with some friends too. Luckily the weather held out and the children were delighted when they saw someone had made a tree swing!

On the days when I’m not working I always try and walk to collect the children from school. It’s a mile and a half so gives us a good dose of fresh air. It was just what we needed the other day and we were having such fun we decided to go home, grab the scooters and have a quick visit to the park as well – it was almost dark by the time we left, but we thought that ‘park in the dark’ had a certain ring to it!

I’m linking up again with #CountryKids over at Coombe Mill. I can’t wait to get jealous at all the outdoor fun you’ve all found time to have despite it being back into the swing of school!

th_Country_Kids_badge_transparent

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Coombe Mill
    Jan 13, 2015 @ 00:25:09

    A mile and a half to school, well done you for walking it, thats 3 miles for you, a perfect blast of fresh air. It is 2.5 miles for us so we don’t do it often but sometimes as you say it is a great way for the kids to unwind after school. I love the tree swing and smiled at the ballet image! Thank you for sharing with me on Country Kids

    Reply

Leave a Reply

