Project 365 – Week 1

Well here I am, a newbie to this project but very excited to be taking part! I’m not a photographer by any means but I’m hoping that taking part in this will actually encourage me to physically pic up the camera and record so many ‘ordinary’ memories. It’s easy to remember to take pics of the special events but I really want to think of every moment as being special, because it is.

So here’s my first week of 2015 in pictures:

Day1

New Year’s Day is always a day I love because while we really enjoy spending Christmas with our families, and this year was even more special because my parents came up too, New Year’s Day is typically a day we have just the four of us. We had 12 for Christmas lunch, so cooking for 4 was fab. We spent the day playing board games, nipped out for a quick stroll and had a totally unconventional New Year’s lunch of tomato pasta bake with garlic dough balls and salad, as chosen by the kiddles! Clearly despite having the best of intentions, I didn’t take a pic while we were out, so we had a ‘silly selfie’ between games!

Day 2

This was probably our busiest day of the holidays, but again my ability to remember to take a picture failed. After a lovely pub lunch and stroll in a beautiful village over the other side of Bristol and then a stroll around the shops we took two very tired children home, so this is just a quick snap as my eldest got into iPad mode!

Day 3

The day of the impulse buy! We’ve played so many games over Christmas and I think this is almost the reverse of what we’re supposed to do – aren’t we supposed to encourage games away from a screen?! It was my husband’s idea to buy a console that we can all play on together, I think he’s secretly hoping we can release our inner child, but the children were very excited about getting a Wii U, especially as it came complete with MarioKart. I also made an impulse purchase of the Fit pack that goes with it too so I have no excuses now…

I’m linking up with TheBoyandMe for this project – thank you for inviting me and to everyone I’ve spoken to about it that has made a newbie feel welcome. See you in Week 2!

5d22813fa562e5cc75717f27782ad678

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 76 sunflowers
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 14:15:30

    I love New Years Day for the downtime and gentle walks. You’ll soon get used to snapping – I drive the OH mad with my pic taking, but he encouraged me even more with a camera for my birthday. He kind of gets it now he knows what Im doing. I’ll look out for you on my trips out and about 😉

    Reply

  2. Mandy Walsh (@lifewithasd)
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 14:48:00

    haha love day ones capture 🙂 This is my second yr of 365, but I only got as far as day 100 last year!

    Reply

  3. Rachel Simons (@StressedRach)
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 17:01:23

    Happy New Year, Your daughter seems to be the same as mine in the back of the car with the iPad lol

    Reply

  4. Lolly (@nortonmum)
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 18:08:52

    Great start to the year, I’m trying to get into taking photo’s too. Good luck to us : )
    Lorraine

    Reply

  5. Erica Price
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 18:55:53

    We bought a wii for the same reason a few years ago. H and his dad quite often play together on it. Love the first pic of the two of you.

    Reply

  6. Kim Carberry
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 20:00:57

    Wonderful photos! A great start to the New Year x

    Reply

  7. mummyoftwo2
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 20:48:15

    A Wii is a great family console isn’t it – we really should use ours more often! It looks like a fun start to 2015 for you all!

    Reply

  8. Kirsty Hijacked By Twins
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 21:01:36

    I love the first picture and the excitement on your little ones faces with the Wii U. This is my second 365 and I loved my first year, especially the round up and looking back over the year. I look forward to following your year in pictures x #project365

    Reply

  9. Louise
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 22:08:12

    Love that first photo – great selfie! Happy New Year and hope 2015 is a good year for you 🙂

    Reply

  10. TheBoyandMe
    Jan 11, 2015 @ 00:14:41

    The Boy is absolutely desperate to have a Wii U whereas I have no idea what the difference is between that and a normal Wii, so he’s not having one!

    Thanks for linking up to Project 365 and good luck with the year ahead, I’m really chuffed to have you on board and look forward to seeing your photos.

    Reply

  11. Stacey Guilliatt (Nobody Said It Was Easy)
    Jan 19, 2015 @ 21:11:38

    Looks like an eventful first week! #project365

    Reply

Leave a Reply

