The Great Outdoors

I feel a bit of a phoney calling this post ‘The Great Outdoors’ actually, given that we’ve really only ventured out a couple of times all holiday! Since we got back from our holiday in the summer we made getting out with the children a real priority realising that we hadn’t really done so until this point. Weekends would sometimes dissolve into laziness because of how tired my husband and I were after a week of working very long hours (yes, yes I know we get all those holidays etc. but that doesn’t stop you feeling absolutely shattered 5 weeks into a very long term!) and we would go back to school on Monday having barely left the house. This wasn’t always the case of course but we decided to join the National Trust and if we didn’t have other plans we would visit somewhere for a long walk every weekend – and we did right up until Christmas!

Christmas was fab, but very much an indoor thing and we were hosts to 12 people and several uninvited germs, but we did manage a couple of fresh air outings – one to a gorgeous place almost walking distance from our house, the other, our absolute favourite National Trust haunt, only about 20 mins away. I just love that if we ask the children where we should go or what we should do, we always get the same reply: “STOURHEAD!”

When the lovely Fiona from Coombe Mill tweeted me and told me to take my camera and take some snaps so I could join in with #countrykids on her blog I was really excited, especially as it would be something I could passionately write about after my 2 year blogging break!

So here’s our meagre offering for this week – I’m really looking forward to making this a regular thing (without the meagre bit)!

So although we didn’t quite make it out into the great outdoors too much over the last week or so, I can’t wait to get out there more – the children are at their absolute happiest when they’re outside and so by default are we! Next time I link up to #countrykids I’m looking forward to being able to show you more than 2 days out!

th_Country_Kids_badge_transparent

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Merlinda (@pixiedusk)
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 21:30:29

    Awww what a stunning place. Its really hard to go out esp this holiday seasons. We were mostly inside the house too. But my son has got so much energy so even if I don’t like to go out I try to.

    #countrykids

    Reply

  2. 76 sunflowers
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 14:20:17

    Love Stourhead! I’ve blogged our days out there many times πŸ˜‰ We were there too as you know and had to walk round by the obelisk to get in as the usual gate was locked at 12 when we got there??! Glad you’re back blogging and I totally get the knackered thing – I feel it and I’m only in school three days a week but still full on!

    Reply

  3. Coombe Mill (Fiona) (@coombemill)
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 21:56:45

    This looks like the perfect place to get outside, enjoy some fresh air and get the inspirational juices flowing. I’m so glad you’ve come along and linked up again it looks like a fab time was had by all and I look forward to reading all about your future fun! Thanks for linking up with Country Kids.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

