The Wrong Resolutions!

I’m not normally one for making public resolutions. I usually start the year with a couple of nice intentions, the usual cliches, nothing drastic! Then yesterday we were all sat around the dining room table eating our lunch, one of those lovely leisurely lunches with proper quality conversation and time as a family, and we got on to the subject of resolutions. My 7 year old daughter suggested we make resolutions for each other and much hilarity ensued as we chuckled about whether my son could go a day (or even an hour) without discarding his socks somewhere inappropriate, or whether we could convince my daughter to like sprouts. Then it was the turn of the adults and my daughter without any hesitation said that my resolution should be to clean less and play more. We all had a little giggle, especially when friendly Twitterer Elaine asked if I’d suggested the opposite as a resolution for my daughter, but a whole day later it’s still there, right at the forefront of my mind. That’s really what she thinks. My husband and I are both teachers and the school holidays are very special for us as a family because we’re all together, all the time, and we get time to do things together that we just don’t in term time. Those times are very special, so this year is about making sure we don’t lose the special quality time the night we reset the alarm to 6am weekdays!

I know I’m not the first to say it, but it is the first time I’ve said it in relation to our lives. I think the saying goes that people don’t reach old age and wish they’d worked more, in fact it’s quite the opposite. I don’t want my children to grow up wishing I’d played with them more. I can tidy my house in 10 years time when they don’t want me to play with them like they do now. Every day is a new opportunity for fun in their eyes and I need to make it the same in mine. It’s so easy for work to take over, especially when you love what you do, but my resolution is definitely to spend more time making memories and having fun.

I’ve also decided to do Project365 this year, and I’m going to link up TheBoyandMe‘s page to see other people’s pics too. I’m not a photographer by any means and that’s not why I’m doing it, I just want to create visual reminders of the precious moments we share, and also if I’m honest, have a daily pressure to make sure I spend time each day, wherever possible with the children, doing something that will be worthy of that photo! I started doing 100 happy days last year but I only lasted 10 days, so please help me stick to this as it’s something I’m so passionate about!

It does feel strange starting the year with the intention of working for less time, doing less housework, and having more fun, but I’m going to try really hard to keep this special family time going when the alarm goes off in the dark next Monday. How on earth are we going to be able to get up?!

Happy New Year one and all, I’m off to find a photographic opportunity!

Regards, Waynetta Slob in the making (but a very happy one)!

I

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. 76 sunflowers
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 14:23:14

    I haven’t made any resolutions this year but have picked a word instead – fulfilment. Bit of a heavy one but hopefully I’ll get there! Good luck with the socks – still working on a 36yr old here on that one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

