It’s a Sticky Issue…

I love my children to bits, obviously I do, but I hate the thing they seem to love most – stickers! What is it about them that makes them so obsessed? I swear they can see stickers in their sleep, and I still remember being in Next, ordering a new sofa when my daughter was just over 1. We thought she was happily looking at the kids stuff, we could see her sat down, not causing a stir. Only when we got up to leave did we realise she’d got hold of the fabric sample thing and had been removing the bar code stickers off the back of every single one and sticking them all over her pushchair. I can’t guarantee how many people would have got the sofas they ordered that day!

This is a craze that has just never lost its appeal. It’s 10am, and already this morning my husband has nearly gone to work with a price label on his bottom, I’ve pulled 17 gold stars out of the washing machine, removed 8 purple butterflies from the banister, leaving the yucky black sticky residue for later, and have found a decapitated Peppa Pig in the cutlery tray of the dishwasher! And if they can’t find stickers, they will just keep pulling at the Sellotape. Double sided sticky tape is obviously the holy grail!

Stickers solve everything, no activity is more fun or rewarding than removing an adhesive piece of paper from a waxy sheet and placing it on a slightly different piece of paper, or item of clothing, or body part, or piece of furniture. Actually, it doesn’t matter where it goes, it just can’t possibly stay where it is.

I feel a bit bad really, that these harmless, and relatively inexpensive objects rile me so, but when you find you can’t perform any everyday, mundane task without first having to check that nothing is stuck to you or it, suddenly, it all takes three times as long – bah humbug!

So please, somebody out there, tell me I’m not alone, and also empathise with me when I tell you that my husband on Friday brought home 7000 sticky gold stars…!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heidi (@Him_Me_Three)
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 10:08:29

    My children are the same. I find stickers EVERYWHERE!!

    Reply

  2. TheBoyandMe
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 23:14:46

    7000?!!!! WTF and why?!

    I’m anal with The Boy and stickers: paper only.

    Reply

  3. PhotoPudddle
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 23:37:14

    Yup, stickers all over the place here as well. When I’m doing the washing I always have to check our clothes for stickers. And I’m always finding them on the bottom of my feet. Still it is rather nice that she’s always giving me stickers for being a good mummy!

    Reply

  4. Lee C
    Jun 26, 2012 @ 04:41:22

    Feel your pain….. Although it’s subsided a little, we still have a 9yo who if left unattended, and quiet, could be attaching anything to anything! Great post 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

