Hen or Chicken?

This weekend I am doing something I vowed I would never do again. I’m a grump and I feel really really guilty for being a grump. Yes this weekend I am going to a hen weekend!

I just don’t ‘do’ hen weekends. Grudgingly I went out for a meal when it was my turn to walk down the aisle, but it really was under duress! Then about four years ago I went to a hen weekend and I vowed it would be my last after I ended up paying £75 for a £5.99 pizza. I found out I was pregnant literally a couple of days before and it meant I wasn’t able to do a couple of the activities, but I was forced to pay for them anyway or risk a lot of bad feeling, and despite the fact I was throwing up left right and centre, and therefore opted not to eat, I was still expected to pay an equal share at the meal, including funding everyone’s wine. On top of that I was forced to buy a shirt that was never in a million years going to fit over my 34FFs AND wear it. So essentially I felt like rubbish and looked like rubbish and had to pay money that I didn’t have for the privilege, just so as not to upset anyone.

In five years I have managed to avoid any kind of hen weekendness, but this weekend I mustn’t avoid it, because the person getting married is someone who I love to bits and I would be a very horrible and selfish person if I wasn’t there. They’ve made a real effort not to make people feel exactly how I do about the whole thing, but this Saturday I’m going to be one of those women that I cringe at on the rare occasions that I find myself out and about on a Saturday night!

I know that when I get there, it will be lovely to spend time with my friend, and it won’t be anything like the way I’m playing it in my head. There’s no pink theme, it’s not all about the willies and I’m pretty sure it’s supposed to be an enjoyable experience, I just have to snap out of my scaredy cat mentality, and let my hair down, because this is a happy celebration – someone I like and care very much about is getting married! I will repeat this as a mantra until Sunday. Wish me luck and feel free to tell me off for being a grump!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mother.wife.me
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 13:52:24

    Good luck, I can’t bear hen weekends or any kind of ‘organised’ fun. Hope you survive it!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

