What Have I Done?!

I remember teaching a lesson a few years back when I completely reversed all genders, referred to all the hes as shes, mums as dads and Sirs as Misses. The point? To show the students how they have come to accept some things just as they are, because that’s how they have always been. But if they had been taught from birth that actaully ‘Mum’ is called ‘Dad,’ then they would just have acccepted that as normal. It probably sounds very confusing, but it worked in the concept of what we were doing!

However, I’m discovering that perhaps this isn’t so far from reality. This morning, we couldn’t leave the house until my son had finished his papple and put his Stompasaurus on. My daughter still doesn’t like poddy and there is always one wissy missing.

The trouble is, as the children are older, I’m now trying to convince them of the correct names, but they’re not having any of it! Their mispronounced words as babies which were oh so endearing then, have well and truly stuck, and if I try and suggest that papple is actually called juice, I get laughed at like I’m insane, I’m clearly confused! I think people must look at me like I’ve lost the plot sometimes!

Please tell me I’m not the only one!

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charlotte
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 08:46:28

    When I worked in Reception I promised myself that I wouldn’t use baby talk as some of the children found it hard to drop it. Now I’m a mum, I can’t help it. With a baby everything is much cuter when you use the baby words! Bob isn’t old enough for me to know if it has stuck yet but I can assure you, you are not the only one!

    Reply

    • itsamumsworld
      Mar 29, 2012 @ 09:10:56

      I know what you mean! My daughter’s in Reception, but thankfully she just uses the baby talk to be silly now, though I’m not sure my son is going to drop the habit so easily, he just thinks I’m being silly when I say it correctly lol! x

      Reply

  2. Kelly Atherton
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 13:05:19

    The main words that have stuck with Steven , my 3 yr old, is Bink (drink), cribs (crisps) weeties (sweets) weckfurst (breakfast).
    I know he’ll eventually get out of this and learn the proper words
    For now its quite cute 😀

    Reply

  3. Sleeping Mom
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 16:34:01

    So far we’ve been able to stay away from the baby talk because of precisely what you cited! They grow up with using the baby words instead of the real words. I can understand though; they’re just so darn cute when they use baby names lol.

    Reply

  4. kipmcgrathurmston
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 08:58:23

    My daughter used to call her her school uniform a school unicorn which I loved. Now I still say and my children give me withering looks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

