Where’s My Loot?!

The other day my children went to a birthday party. Well, sort of. They went to someone’s house for tea, and it just so happened that it was their birthday. My children took a present, so as far as they were concerned it was a party.

After we’d had tea, we were getting ready to go. Our coats were on, we’d weed, shoes were on and we were just saying our thank yous and goodbyes, when my daughter started twitching. I thought she needed the toilet again, but no, she had other issues:

She was actually laughing at this point, assuming we were all playing a trick on her…

“Mummy, we can’t go yet, we haven’t even had our party bags!”

Uh oh, why couldn’t she have thought this, or even just whispered it to me?! Why did she have to say it out loud, in front of the birthday girl, and her mum, and her dad, and her gran, and the next door neighbour and their dog?!

Obviously I tried to make a joke of it, but it just got worse! She continued:

“But I thought this was a party! Was it a party?!”

By this point, my son is saying “par-tee bag!” on a loop too!

Ground, please swallow me now!

Eventually, the mum rummaged through her cupboards and found a packet of Fruit Pastilles, which my daughter doesn’t even like, but she was fine with that, she had her loot. Peace was restored!

I felt awful though. I honestly don’t think my daughter was being rude, even though it may have come across that way, she’d just never been to a party where she hadn’t been given a party bag so saw it as part of the routine. My son refused to leave his toddler group the other day, because he hadn’t sung Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. Usually that’s the last song we sing, but it was someone’s birthday and they’d asked for the Hokey Cokey instead, so he just sat there. He wasn’t being naughty, it’s just as far as he was concerned, the end of the group is signalled by Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. I sang it to him quietly, then he got up and left! I guess I’ve just bred creatures of habit!

However, when they speak so matter of factly, I do just want to wake up and find I’ve been dreaming! I now know how my mum felt that day when the doorbell rang, and right behind the door, 5 year old me shouted “Mummy, it’s the milkman, do we need to hide today?!” or the time I told the Vicar not to bless our dog at the school pet service because “Mummy says he’s a randy little sod…”

Oh, this is revenge and I feel it’s going to get a whole lot worse!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 17:44:25

    Eek kids can be so embarrassing sometimes can’t they! If its any consolation mine would be the same. If its someone birthday and they’ve gone to their house for tea & taken a present then they too would expect a party bag! They expect party bags when it’s their siblings birthdays haha…it’s just the “done thing”.

    Reply

  2. itsamumsworld
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 13:30:06

    That does make me feel better, thank! Always good to know you’re not alone! x

    Reply

  3. The Crumby Mummy
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 17:03:19

    ‘Out of the mouths of babes.’ Love it! ;o) Luckily Bob can only say ‘Hiya,’ so I am safe for now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

