Little Miss Chatterbox?…

When my daughter started school I was proud, happy and excited. I blogged about her first day, and how I couldn’t understand why I would ever have wanted to cry or mark this milestone in her life as negative in any way. How could I feel like that when she was just so enthusiastic and optimistic about the whole thing?!

Even when she did her first play, or I was met with “Just stop asking me questions!”, “I can’t remember.”, or “Nothing.” In response to the “What have you been up to at school today?” question, my positive outlook on the whole thing remained.

But last week, I finally got my “She’s growing up so fast, she’s not a baby any more!” moment, when we had Parent’s Evening and her first school report! It suddenly hit me! While I was still very proud and smiley, this made me realise that I was going to someone else and they were going to tell me about my child. They may have been going to tell me things I didn’t know about my child. She now has a whole other life when she is at school and I’m not really a part of that life.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to be part of that life, I think independence is really important, and whatever happens at school must be good, because we’ve not had a single day where she’s ever complained about going to school, or not wanted to go to school. She loves it. She woke us up at some unearthly hour (well actually it was 8am, pretty good for any 4 year old, but it didn’t feel it at the time!) because she was so excited about doing her homework. She can read and write and loves to learn.

As it was, her teacher confirmed pretty much everything that we already thought academically, and it also turns out that she’s not a chatterbox or a bossy boots which we thought might come up, she is instead “Always very eager to share her opinions, and her opinions are always very definite!” I wonder where she gets that from?!

So I’m not infallible when it comes to emotion after all! My daughter might not be a baby any more, but she’s my baby and that’ll never change!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Boy and Me (@TheBoyandMe)
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 13:59:52

    She’ll always be your baby! I have had those moments already and The Boy only goes to playgroup once a week, and only for the past month! Hate to think what I’ll be like when he goes to school.

    Reply

  2. Stitches and Stretchmarks
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 20:22:16

    This is a lovely lovely post. I’m a bit terrified of Ted going to nursery and having a life I’ll never know about because he can’t tell me! But when he goes to school and just *chooses* not to tell me, preferring “I can’t remember” to “we did this and this and this”, I think I’ll be gutted!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

