The Gallery: Friends

I come from a very small family. Every day I get sad that I don’t really speak to my parents. It’s a whole other post in itself, and one I’m working up to, when I can be brave enough, but I genuinely hope that one day I’ll have a good relationship with my side of the family.

So why bring that up now, when it’s a gallery theme all about friends this week on Tara’s blog over at Sticky Fingers? Well I think of myself as being lucky to have lots of friends, and my children too are lucky in that respect. They are both very sociable and outgoing and generally enjoy being around other children. My daughter has two very special friends who I’d love to have included in this post, but I haven’t asked permission to put the photos in! It doesn’t matter though because now I’m getting to the point (promise!)… I’d always hoped I could be part of a family which extends beyond the tie of genes:

My husband is my best friend…

My children are best friends…

They want to play together

They play tricks together…

They work together…

They read together…

Sure they are company for each other at home like all siblings, but their relationship even aged 4 and 2 extends beyond this. My son is at his happiest when he runs up to his sister at the end of her school day. My daughter likes nothing more than helping her brother up over the bits at the soft play that he’s not quite big enough to do by himself. If either of them gets upset, the other one will instantly ditch whatever they are doing to make sure all is ok.

Maybe in a few years, things will be different, but for now, I get to see the strongest friendship I’ve ever witnessed, every single day, how lucky am I?!

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Herding Cats
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 15:23:11

    Such a lovely post. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

  2. Actually Mummy (@ActuallyMummy)
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 21:08:54

    You look beautiful in your wedding photo. And the gallery this week is reminding me to focus when my kids are getting on well – I never had that with my brother, and it is so lovely for them!

    Reply

  3. sarahmumof3
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 21:27:50

    lovely post, I too love the fact my three have such a great friendship and hope that it last into their adulthood xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

