Whose Game is it Anyway?

What was I thinking when I calmly asked my children to go and get ready for bed?! They’re four and two, clearly I’m just making the process take twice as long. I heard the giggling and the word ‘trick’ and was waiting to find out which small hole my daughter would be trying to squish my son into, but I was pleasantly surprised until I looked closely at what was going on…

My children are oblivious to the concept of gender specific toys and I have no problem with this whatsoever. If nothing else, it gives me so much ammunition for when they’re older in terms of photographic evidence which can come back to haunt them!

Does it matter that this is my son?

Or that this is my daughter?

My daughter has always been a girly girl. She loves her Disney Princesses and pretty pink things. My son is very similar. He also loves pretty pink things and he can name more Disney Princesses than he can trains from Thomas the Tank Engine. Having a bossy sister leaves him with very little choice on what he should play with!

The fact that I had a girl first, and the fact that of course I was one once, has made me a lot more knowledgable about toys targeted at girls. Our collection of ‘boys’ toys’ is growing, thanks to the inevitable Thomas the Tank Engine products he always gets given, but he’s never shown a particularly great interest in them… until his sister did!

When we moved, my daughter quickly became very good friends with one of the boys in her class, and as I became very good friends with his mum, they now see a lot of each other outside of school too. He came round for tea at our house, and is clearly very patient, because he had no problems playing ‘tooth fairies,’ princesses or being a ‘pupil’ in my daughter’s ‘school!’ I felt for him slightly, and suggested other activities that perhaps her guest may prefer, but to no avail!

A few days later, my daughter went round to his house after school. He is the eldest of three boys, so their house is very well stocked with a lot of completely different toys to what my daughter has shown an interest in. She had a great time, and when she came back, she told us all about her time, how she played football and dinosaurs, then finished with “And I learnt a great new game too, it’s called Killing!”

Since meeting this boy, all of her games seem to involve pirates and swords. Suddenly, her brother’s toys are far more interesting to her, and they go off together and play with his cars or his Batcave. Her most asked for item on her Christmas list was a Knight’s Castle! As a result of my daughter’s interest in his toys, my son suddenly wants to play with them too – he hasn’t worn heels for a good few weeks now!

But I needn’t worry just yet that my daughter is losing all her pink girliness, after stabbing me with a sword because my car finished first in the Grand Prix this morning, she reminded me it’s only one more week until she gets her pink leotard and tutu for ballet and that I wasn’t to touch a thing in her bedroom as she’s getting it ready for a Princess’ tea party, meanwhile, my son was getting ready to make some pink bunting for said tea party! We don’t care as long as we’re all having fun!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chloe Brewer
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 11:18:53

    How lovely! I agree, no harm in liking toys aimed at the opposite sex-my 16 month old son loves my handbags and shoes and he doesn’t even have a sister (yet!) and I don’t think there is anything wrong with them indulging their curiosity! xx

    Reply

  2. PippaD @ A Mothers Ramblings
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 14:41:54

    You just described my house! I don’t think it matters who plays with what, it’s all about personal interests!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

