Mrs Tinks’ Food for Children: Review

I wrote a post not so long ago about how my daughter was a fussy eater, with macaroni cheese being about the extent of her acceptable meals. Even chips are a chore and pizza is a no go altogether which doesn’t make a ‘quick and easy’ dinner particularly easy.

Anyway, ‘Mrs. Tinks‘ got in contact and asked if I’d like to sample some meals that she’s designed. She’s a mum herself, and has a fussy eater among her brood so knows where I’m coming from! All of the meals in the range are home made from good ingredients, with no sugar, salt or artificial flavours and preservatives added. There are four meals in the range so far: a beef lasagne, salmon and cod pie, chicken curry, and butternut squash and spinach lasagne.

For my daughter, what the food looks like is paramount as to whether or not she will eat it, it’s almost like she has a fear of the unknown. I know the obvious solution to this is to encourage her to help me prepare the food, but unfortunately this doesn’t work either because as soon as she knows what’s in there, there’s not even the slightest chance she’ll try it!

When the food arrived however, my daughter was so excited about the big box, and when she saw the meals, she was totally captivated by the packaging (carrots are one of the few foods she does like!) and very excited to try them.

We opted for the Bold British Beef Lasagne first, as she loves pasta, and has on occasion eaten bolognese! I’d be lying if I said we didn’t have tears and tantrums at first because the food looked ‘different’ to anything she’d eaten before, but after seeing her brother wolfing it down, she conceded and tried it.

After the first mouthful, we reached this stage in record time (the first photo was my other child’s plate by the way, that’s why they’re different!):

A happy face, a clean plate and a full tummy really do make my day!

As a vegetarian, I can’t do the taste test myself, but we had a repeat performance with the Succulent Salmon and Cod Fish Pie. I loved how this had carrot in it too, and it definitely helped towards the clean plate which we had. The Yummy Butternut Squash and Spinach Lasagne was also a hit! My husband will be late home tonight so I’m trying them with the Crazily Crackers Chicken Curry. I’m really hoping for 2 clean plates!

Mrs. Tinks food is London based at the moment, but if you contact them, they will try and deliver out of area. My food box arrived incredibly well insulated and chilled, so the food hadn’t lost any of that home cooked freshness in transit. My daughter’s Godmother lives in Crouch End which is one area Mrs Tinks food is available, so I’ll definitely be stocking up when I go and visit her.

Meals cost £3.50 for child sized individual portions, but these sizes easily fed both of mine. Family sized portions are also available  for all meals apart from the Crazily Crackers Chicken Curry. You can find more information about Mrs. Tinks food over on their website, including information on how to order meals. Everyone needs a quick and easy dinner sometimes, and when they are popular with the children, you know you’re onto a winner!

I was very kindly sent some meals for this review. Thank you Mrs. Tinks!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. The Boy and Me (@TheBoyandMe)
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 19:41:55

    We had some sent as well, they are fabulous meals aren’t they? We shared the butternut squash and spinach lasagne, it was so yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

