The ‘Star’ of the Show? (Or maybe not!)

You’d think the fact that I was a music teacher for ten years, and that all the way through University I performed as a soloist and as part of a choir that went on all sorts of foreign tours, that this would have been as a result of all my hard work and successes at school, taking part in every extra curricular activity going, leads in all the school plays?

Well, as it happened, school plays just didn’t seem to be my thing. I loved them, and wanted with all my heart to have a good role, but I was never chosen *sob*. I guess the fact I recited lines in a monotone manner, lisping through my braces, not even making eye contact with the floor through my 6 inch thick glasses, and my plump figure and E cup boobs by the time I was 13, which made it impossible to dance a single step, in retrospect, might have had something to do with it, but at the time I just didn’t get it!

By secondary school, I’d kind of given up on my dreams and opted instead to sit in the orchestra pit tootling on my flute, but in primary school, everyone had a role. Everyone was important. Without the 6th angel, I’m pretty confident Jesus would have been doomed and the entire nativity would have needed rewriting! One year, on the day of our school nativity, the girl playing Mary was too ill to play her part. Being the slightly geeky child that I was, I knew all of her lines, and volunteered to step in and take her place. How deflated I felt when the teacher decided that (despite clearly hearing me offer) the best option was to have a big doll play Mary, held by Joseph, with the teacher shouting her lines from the side!

As I progressed through primary school, my roles in the play kept coming: a workhouse boy in Oliver, a Munchkin in the Wizard of Oz, and 2nd Owl in Toad of Toad Hall among but a few.

At the time, I really thought it mattered that I didn’t have a big part, but the letter came home from my daughter’s school on Friday to say that she’d been chosen to be a ‘dancing star’ in the nativity. I’m presuming this isn’t the big, main star that guides the shepherds to Bethlehem, otherwise with my daughter’s dancing, they will definitely be taking a detour en route, but I can’t wait to see it! Every day, she sings me the songs, and amazes me at how a four year old can remember all those words, she’s even learnt to skip with both legs, rather than the one legged lunging she’s been doing until now, and I have a daily countdown as to how many days it is until she does the school show. I don’t care if she’s a dancing star or a tree trunk, as long as she’s having fun! I’ll be going to the performances, probably secretly blubbing with pride in a darkened corner somewhere. She can’t wait for Mummy and Daddy to come and watch her, and I can’t wait either, and I think I’ve got away with the whole costume making thing quite easily too, I just need to find some black leggings and gold tinsel, I bet ‘Mary’s’ mum is quaking in her boots at all the stuff she’s got to make!

Leave a Reply

