What do you mean “What is it?!”

This was the question asked by one of my friends when I posted one of the pictures below on Facebook recently! Before I had children, my idea of home cooking was piercing the film lid several times before placing my meal in the microwave. Then I had my daughter and I decided I’d try really hard when it came to weaning her, to make food from scratch. She was fussy from Day 1, and wouldn’t ever touch baby food from jars, so really I had no choice! I discovered, that actually, I could make food that tasted good. My husband and daughter both ate my food and it didn’t make them ill – go me!

The trouble was, and still is, it’s not usually recognisable! I was commenting on a post over on (Mostly) Yummy Mummy’s blog a few weeks back, saying as much, after she’d written about her attempts to create masterpieces using breakfast cereals as part of Nestle’s Team Whole Grain initiative to help encourage us to all include whole grain into our diets. After confessing my appalling artitistic skills, they got in contact to see if I’d like to have a go too!

Clearly, anything that involves food will also involve me having two little helpers, but I have to say, thanks to the recipe cards they sent me, this was a perfect after school activity now it’s getting dark so early. The only thing I’m slightly embarrassed by is that some of these were made by a 32 year old, and some by a 2 year old, and I’m not sure I can actually tell which are which! So I won’t tell you what they are, I’ll leave it for you to decide, and if you get stuck, why not pop over to the Team Whole Grain website. You can find a whole range of their cereal art recipes to try out here, and they really are great fun!

The making...

More making!

And answers on a postcard, here’s our finished works of (cereal) art…

Exhibit 1

Exhibit 2 (they're not wolves, as I was asked!)

(In order to write this post, I was very kindly sent some cereals and recipe cards. Thank you Nestle!)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula Maher (@PaulaMaher)
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 11:02:49

    these look yummy! i could eat a flower, but i don’t think i could bring myself to eat a reindeer… i don’t “do” venison!

    Reply

  2. Helen
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 11:10:31

    I love them! They are great…..I often take pics of my 2 year old making something just so it looks like it’s him that has done the decorating when in fact it is often me & my poor artistic skills/
    I love how you used the pineapple – very creative!

    Reply

  3. (Mostly) Yummy Mummy
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 13:12:04

    They are fabulous! I can’t believe what a mess I made of the sheep that we did – they were shockingly bad! (Although they were lots of fun and tasted lovely!) I think your creations are brilliant though. I might have to try my hand at the reindeer. I think I’m just a gluten for punishment 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

