My Child Won’t Eat!

Potatoes, tomatoes and meat. If I try to make my daughter eat these foods then she won’t be my friend ever ever again, and trying to feed a four year old a balanced diet without any of them is proving very difficult! I’m also committed to never being able to do a lazy meal, chips and pizza are both off the menu!

What will she eat? Bread, cheese, as long as it’s not melted, and pasta. Needless to say, cheesy pasta is her favourite meal! To be fair, she’s pretty good at eating fruit and veg, but we do have lots of battles because she doesn’t like ‘skin.’ This has meant several tantrums as I’ve refused to peel grapes, sweetcorn and peas!

So what do you feed your fussy eater? My 2 year old son is the complete opposite and it’s now getting to the stage where if my duaghter isn’t quick enough, he’ll sneakily swap the plates over and eat hers too! I sometimes don’t even know how she survives, I don’t worry too much, on the assumption that if she’s really hungry she will eat. She’s full of energy and isn’t losing weight, and I won’t just cave in and give her cheesy pasta every day. We try to eat together as a family as often as possible too, and I continue to offer her foods even though she has decided she doesn’t like them. I used to make her sit at the table until she had eaten a reasonable amount, but it was getting stupid, over an hour just seems ridiculous, so now, if she says she is full or doesn’t want it, I let her get down on the understanding that if she is hungry later, she will have to eat what she has left instead of snacking on something different, if it’s a meal that allows her to do that.

Obviously, her selectiveness doesn’t just refer to main meals, since starting school, the packed lunches have been an issue. Variety has not been a feature of what she takes, and doesn’t extend beyond cheese or ham in the sandwich, banana or apple, and strawberry or peach yoghurt! She also asked a friend’s mum if she could make her some cheesy pasta when she went round for tea, and although very polite, it was just as she’d served up a jacket potato with cauliflower cheese!

She’s even fussy over sweets and cake! If they aren’t chocolate, she doesn’t want to know! She won some Haribo at the school disco a couple of weeks back, which you can read about here, and while she was ecstatic about her victory, the sweets were just ignored and she wouldn’t touch them, ditto if we make cakes and try and sneak some raisins in there!

So lovely Mummies of the blog world and Twitter, please help me with ideas I can try, to get a bit of variety into my daughter’s diet. Food has to pass the view and lick test. She mustn’t be able be able to see anything she doesn’t like in it, and upon licking, I believe it needs to taste of chocolate or cheesy pasta. Simple right?!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy francis
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 12:08:33

    Hi, she sounds like a small version of me. I wouldn’t eat anything but bread and butter sandwiches! I’ve still got issues now, but over the years I’ve tried new things. Try not to worry, I’ve lasted 23 years on eating “crap”! With me it’s psychological and it’s not easy to live with. For family meals all I can have is chips. Maybe get her to help you cook with you? Or take her to a child friendly dietician? Good luck!! xx

    Reply

    • itsamumsworld
      Nov 14, 2011 @ 13:21:04

      Thank you for the comment, I know she’s definitely not alone in the fussy eating stakes, I just wish she’d eat some of those foods that are in everything, like potatoes! I’ll keep persevering lol! x

      Reply

  2. Lisa thomas
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 13:16:17

    Just go with the flow Hun. If that’s all she wants to eat, then let her. She won’t starve. As she gets older, she will get more adventurous and will try different things. The important thing is not to turn the dinner table into a battle ground, as this will cause her to refuse certain foods just to get a reaction from you.

    Reply

    • itsamumsworld
      Nov 14, 2011 @ 13:19:56

      Thank you, that’s really reassuring as it’s pretty much what I’m doing. Like you say, I know she won’t starve, and so I’m trying not to make a big issue out of it, even though it’s doing my head in! x

      Reply

  3. Lizz
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 17:06:32

    Have you tried doing some messy play activity with food? Things like mashed potato or jelly play. Letting her explore the food in a fun way may get her to learn about textures and tastes in a environment she is happy with. Sounds like mealtimes have become a huge battle! Sometimes children use food as a way of controlling the situation, mainly because it’s one of the only things they can control! Taking the pressure off mealtimes may help so a) she doesn’t get any attention from it and b) she doesn’t feel under a lot of pressure to eat. Good luck 🙂 x

    Reply

  4. Lizz (The nurserynurse)
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 17:07:42

    Have you tried doing some messy play activity with food? Things like mashed potato or jelly play. Letting her explore the food in a fun way may get her to learn about textures and tastes in a environment she is happy with. Sounds like mealtimes have become a huge battle! Sometimes children use food as a way of controlling the situation, mainly because it’s one of the only things they can control! Taking the pressure off mealtimes may help so a) she doesn’t get any attention from it and b) she doesn’t feel under a lot of pressure to eat. Good luck x

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Mrs Tinks’ Food for Children: Review « itsamumsworld

Leave a Reply

