Review: Dora’s Enchanted Forest Adventures.

My four year old daughter is a hardcore Dora the Explorer fan, so when I was lucky enough to be able to be offered the chance to review the new DVD, Dora’s Enchanted Forest Adventures, I would have been a very bad Mummy to say no. It was like being asked if I’d like to eat some calorie free chocolate!

The postman arrived very late, so my daughter was already home from school. I suggested this would be an excellent DVD to sit down and watch at the weekend. This was not a good suggestion, and before I’d had a chance to argue my case, the DVD was already in the player, with my daughter negotiating the menu (how can they be so good with technology so young, even my 2 year old can pause and rewind Sky +?)!

Five minutes later, the curtains were drawn to create cinematic surroundings, and Evie and Dancing Dora had taken their places, ready to begin!

Dora’s Enchanted Forest Adventures is a three part special, where Dora travels to a magical world ruled by a Unicorn King. WIth episodes featuring Elves, Fairies and Unicorns, my four year old was never going to be disappointed! In typical Dora style however, things are never straightforward, so it’s up to Dora and her friends to be brave, kind, smart strong, and of course, in fine voice for all those songs to help bring peace back to the kingdom.

All three episodes are being shown on Nick Jr. (Sky 615, Virgin 715 and Talk Talk 318) this week. See more here.

Part 1 – The Tale of the Unicorn King was first shown on Tuesday 8th November, and showed Dora and her friends taking Unicornio on a journey to help him realise he was worthy to be King.

Part 2 – The Secret of Atlantis, is aired on Wednesday 9th November showing Dora, Boots, Unicornio and Diego trying to raise the lost continet of Atlantis.

Part 3 – Dora Saves King Unicornio is being shown for the first time today at 4:30pm and is repeated at 6:30pm and sees Dora and her friends restoring the Enchanted Forest to being a place where anyone is welcome, with Unicornio as it’s King.

If you’ve missed these episodes, you can catch the trilogy back to back over the next three weekends in two hour specials. This weekend it’s on on Friday at 4:30, Saturday at 11am and 4pm, or Sunday at 12pm and 3pm.

When my daughter first got into Dora the Explorer, I have to confess I wasn’t too sure about it, but she absolutely adores it, and the stories are told in such a way that she really understands them and can access the learning aspects too. She has a real interest in languages, which I am convinced came from the Spanish elements in the programme, and there are strong messages of right and wrong portrayed through the stories too which she is always very passionate about. I was told at a recent parent’s evening that my daughter was a ‘typical teacher’s daughter’ in that if there is a message that children are expected to learn, she will absorb it, and ensure that every child that comes into her presence absorbs it too!

And for anyone who’s thinking that Dora the Explorer is for girls, my son can’t get enough of it either! “We Did It!” is our successful potty training anthem, which you can read about here, he couldn’t resist watching it (see below) and this is how he insisted on going to bed the other night!

As for what the chief reviewer thought? In the words of my four year old daughter, Dora’s Enchanted Forest Adventures is “excellent!” This is praise indeed, because my cooking is only “okay!”

(Dora’s Enchanted Forest Adventures is available to buy on DVD from 14th November, but I was very kindly sent a copy for this review.)

Leave a Reply

