No Offence…

Before you read this, if you know me personally in the real world, and consider me your friend, it’s because I am your friend, and the closer we are as friends, the more this applies to you. Please don’t be offended by it, be flattered, it has absolutely no bearing on how much I like you and value you as a friend!

I can’t actually even write about this now, in the way I’d like to, which proves the point I’m trying to get across here! There was a time when Twitter and my blog were my space, that little bit of me that no one in my actual real world knew about. It’s like Twitter was home to my secret friends. You didn’t know anything about me that my nearest and dearest didn’t know, but it was up to me what I told you, and sometimes it was really nice to be able to ask things and get a whole host of opinions or answers back. When my son was first born, you kept me sane.

Now, I still love Twitter and my blog just as much, but I’ve lost my anonymity. A few of my friends have found me, my husband follows me on Twitter and reads my blog. Even when they say nice things about it (and to be fair, they have never once criticised it, on the contrary, they want to tell other people about it), it just makes me feel uneasy. I don’t like people I know reading what I write. I don’t know why. It’s not like I protect my tweets or my blog, anyone can read them, in fact, I enjoy people that  I don’t know reading what I write. I try and rationalise why I feel like I do, but I can’t. I’ve said the exact same thing to the faces of most of the people concerned, and ironically, the closer these people are to me personally, the more uncomfortable I feel about them reading what I write. I know it’s me who has the issue here not them, I guess it’s just down to insecurity and shyness. It’s much easier to hide when you’re sat at a computer.

There, I said it. Am I weird?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 11:40:13

    I know exactly how you feel…..my husband reads my blog and he always slips into the conversation something that has been mentioned on it without actually saying that he’s read it & hate that…I don’t mind him reading it, I just don’t want him to talk about it (bit like sex really,it’s ok to have it….well it used to be….but I do not want to discuss it afterwards!) . I have only told very few of my friends about it but I love people that I’ve ‘met’ on Twitter reading it….so if it makes you weird then I’m right with you too!

    Reply

  2. Frankee b
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 11:51:34

    Nothing weird about that! I have a couple of real life people on twitter which often stops me typing exactly what I want. It was once where I dumped my thoughts without any filter. They’ve never mentioned my blog so I hope they’ve not found their way there.

    It’s my virtual reality. Ideally there would be No real real people – that’s what Facebook is for (and why I barely use it)

    Reply

  3. Polly
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 13:14:29

    Totally with you. It’s why I have 2 twitter accounts. One protected the othe not. I have only 2 people who i knew pre twitter following my protected account. Anyone else is given my other account. So I like to think I can still say what I want and feel, but there is always a niggle that someone is following who I wouldn’t have accepted and so keep myself in check!!!

    Reply

  4. TheBoyandMe
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 18:16:04

    I’m as weird as the next blogger then because I’m the same. My brother and sister-in-law now follow me on twitter, and I don’t like it one bit but how can you refuse? I forget that there’s also four other real-life people (from before) aside from my husband that read it, however they are so geeky that I don’t worry aboout it. I live in fear of someone in the community getting hold of my blog!

    Reply

  5. (Mostly) Yummy Mummy
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 20:31:37

    No you’re not weird! I understand this completely! Other than my OH, nobody in my “real life” know about my blog or Twitter – well not that I know of anyway! I don’t think you can ever be truly anon, I know that and I don’t lie to them, I just omit to tell them about it. I rather like having this part of my life just for me. It’s not that I write anything bad about anyone or anything like that but I just know that it would make me really self conscious about anything that I wrote. I totally understand how you must feel, I’d be the same!

    Reply

    • itsamumsworld
      Nov 09, 2011 @ 20:48:53

      That’s it, you’ve totally hit the nail on the head! It all comes down to being self conscious, and on Twitter I wasn’t, but now I am. But I’d never block these people because they’re my friends! Thanks for making me feel a bit normal 😉

      Reply

  6. Chickenruby
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 20:32:35

    Not word sgt all I feel the same its my personal space, I make sure hubby never mentions my twitter user name to friends and colleagues at work but it does get a bit awkward when he tells people I tweet and blog then I refuse to tell them how to find it

    Reply

  7. Loonylis
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 20:58:17

    I totally agree with you. I find myself turning to twitter to vent my anger about a situation that has just happened, but I’m frustrated that I can’t vent, because the people it’s aimed at may well read it on twitter! I feel almost robbed of my freedom of speech. And I stopped my last blog because some friends of friends were reading it and posting nasty comments on it 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

