“I Need a Wee!”

I love my new house, especially the beautiful cream carpets throughout. They’re just perfect for… a completely potty trained child!

Yes that’s right, it’s Round 2 of potty training in our house. That time when you realise why the age 2-3 rail of pants in 7 packs is always empty, it’s merely a day’s supply! That time when your toddler is starting to resent his daytime nap, and suddenly discovers that if he removes his ‘bed pants’ (aka the humble pull up) then wees on the bed, he has nowhere to sleep (and sometimes I question his intelligence)! And the time when a huge Number 2 becomes an essential centrepiece of any playroom floor! I walked in on this last occasion, to see my son, along with his big sister and her friend all gazing at this creation with wonderment and awe, as if they were face to face with the real Father Christmas!

That said, my approach to potty training this time has been completely different. I don’t feel a pressure for my child to be potty trained, and bizarrely, other people haven’t felt a pressure for my son to be potty trained either. Maybe when it’s first time round, people are trying to be helpful telling you at what ridiculously young age their own children were dry. I was apparently only 16 months clever me! My son is just over 2 1/2 but it was the right time. If he wasn’t ready, I wouldn’t be trying to get him to be, whereas I think if my daughter had reached this age, I’d have been cold sweating and feeling so much pressure!

Also, despite the fact I have cream carpets throughout my new house, the thought of the inevitable accidents doesn’t scare me in the slightest like it did first time round when I had wooden floors. I think it’s partly to my discovery of this:

and the fact that I’ve also discovered that anti bacterial spray doesn’t ruin my carpets like it says on the label that it will!

So I really have been quite chilled out about it this time. We put him in his big boy pants on day one. We stayed in the house for 3 days, and sat him on the toilet every half hour at first. When he did his first wee he was so proud of himself, and the song ‘We Did It’ from Dora the Explorer has become our anthem and celebratory dance!

We’re nearly into week 3, and he’s fully able to tell me when he needs to go, and we haven’t had an accident for 3 days now (tempting fate saying that I know!) so clearly things are going in the right direction. And talking of right direction, my top 2 tips for potty training boys, which was something I’d overlooked having potty trained a girl first time round:

  1. Make sure ‘it’ is pointing down! I have been ‘got!’
  2. Chocolate buttons!
I can however already see issues with tip number 2. Whilst it’s working great for my 2 year old, my 4 year old also now seems to think she deserves them for correctly working her bladder, and they’re diminishing in quantity so rapidly that I believe my husband may be feeling a bit left out in the ‘using the toilet correctly’ reward stakes too!
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Boy and Me (@TheBoyandMe)
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 15:54:32

    Ah, make sure it’s pointing down! Aha, that old one. The amount of times I’ve had to remind him last minute, although The Boy has a tendency to spray to the left for some reason!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Review: Dora’s Enchanted Forest Adventures. « itsamumsworld

Leave a Reply

