Growing up too Fast?

“Mummy, can you come and help me please?”

“I’m on my way!”

About 10 seconds later…

“Mummy, I’ve asked you already, can you come and help me?”

“And I’ve just said I’m on my way!”

“Well it doesn’t look like you are, this is doing my head in!”

A different occasion, walking home from school, making a tortoise look like a Ferrari:

“Come on, giddy up!” (in retrospect, this was perhaps an odd thing to say, but nevertheless)

“Mummy, am I a horse? Do I LOOK like a horse?!”

My big girl is only in her 3rd week of school. She’s doing fantastically, and is already learning to read and construct simple sentences. I think her class teacher is an absolute genius. Given that I have trouble leaving the house with 2 children, I find it amazing that she can get 30 of them ready for outside, inside, lunchtime and PE all in one day, let alone help them learn things, and remain so calm throughout it all. Primary school teachers are truly very special people!

I wasn’t one of those mums who sobbed as I waved her off to school for the first time, she was definitely ready to go, and I found it very difficult to be sad, when all I could see in her eyes was excitement and enthusiasm. Who was I to dampen that?! But all of a sudden, my daughter has developed this immense sense of sarcasm. She’s pretty intelligent so somehow it’s still quite endearing and she can get away with it, but I’m definitely going to have to keep an eye on it or she’s going to rival my sarcastic skill!

The rhymes and the toilet humour are now in full flow too, it’s amazing how the poo jokes are the same ones I used to find hilarious when I was little (ok, perhaps I am still incredibly immature and have to stifle sniggers and fake disapproving looks even now)!

The fact is, I’m actually quite excited that my daughter is growing up (and my son too!), but I feel sometimes like I’m wrong to feel this way. Obviously I’m tinged with emotion that she isn’t that newborn baby that I held in my arms any more, and I get incredibly googly and broody when I do see newborns, but there have been so many times when my husband or I have said what a fantastic age our children are at, and how we wish we could just freeze time and keep them like it forever, but then a few days down the line, they’ve learnt to do something else, reached a new milestone, and that just fuels my excitement and pride even more. What will they do next?

Last night was such a gorgeous moment, when my son went to choose his bedtime story, and then took it into his sister so she could read it to him (she knew it off by heart!), and they sat on the bed together, while she let him lift up the flaps and say what animals were underneath, then continued with the story. My husband and I just hid round a corner and watched. A month ago that wouldn’t have happened, but it was such a beautiful moment, and I’m now looking forward to a few weeks time, when perhaps she will actually be able to read the story.

I’m not wishing time away, I’m just trying to treasure every single moment, but is it weird that I’m more excited than sad about my children growing up? I’m sure when I have to buy my son his first razor I’ll feel differently but for now I’m going to embrace it!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Boy and Me (@TheBoyandMe)
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 21:09:42

    It’s fabulous isn’t it? All the little quirks and conversational skills that they’re developing.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Little Miss Chatterbox?… « itsamumsworld

Leave a Reply

