The Gallery: Mother Love

We’re like chalk and cheese, my Mum and I. We argue like cat and dog. Despite the fact she brought me up, the worlds we live in are very different. Were we not related, I wonder if our paths would ever cross, but she’s my Mum, and I love her. That can never change and I wouldn’t want it to either!

I love my Mum because:

  1. She always fought to give me the best opportunities. At one point she was working three different jobs so that I would have options available to me when I left school.
  2. She taught me how to be responsible with money. I’m the only one of my friends who isn’t paying off a loan for something. I never buy something unless I can afford to pay for it.
  3. She always forgives me. Even for the time I tipped my entire dinner into her handbag so I didn’t have to eat peas, and the time I told the Vicar at the kids pet service not to bless our dog because he was ‘a randy little sod!’
  4. She’s honest. Sometimes it hurts, but at least I know if she tells me I look good, I know I really do!
  5. She’s still here putting up with me! Apparently I was a ‘teenager from hell!’ I can remember saying some really horrible, unforgivable things to my mum in the past, but she’s still here being my mum!

So here we are, two years before I became a Mum myself, and began the most rewarding journey there is!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PippaD @ A Mothers Ramblings
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 13:37:25

    What a lovely post. For me it’s the other way round I am too much like my Mum for my own good!

    Reply

  2. Icklebabe_com
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 16:56:17

    Such a lovely post, . I love the line about “Were we not related, I wonder if our paths would ever cross,” I think we all feal thta sometimes! a great pic too, your both so pretty!

    Reply

  3. Icklebabe_com
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 16:57:47

    Such a lovely post, I love the bit about “Were we not related, I wonder if our paths would ever cross,” I think we all feel like that sometimes. A great pic too, your both so pretty X

    Reply

  4. Katie
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 20:05:23

    This is lovely- your mum sounds great!

    Reply

  5. Susan Mann
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 21:00:31

    What a great post. I love the picture. I don’t think I even have one of me and my mum x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

