The Gallery: Hair

I love hair! As a child, I always wanted one of these, although I never got one:

I’d spend hours each day, doing French plaits and making my Sindy dolls look like they’d ‘just stepped out of a salon!’ When my daughter was born, I was really looking forward to being able to do those girly things for real one day. If she ever wants one of these doll’s heads she can have one, as long as she promises to share it!

My daughter has amazing hair! People stop me in the street to ask where she inherited it from. They clearly look at my uninteresting mop and presume it must be her Daddy. If we’re all out together and they see him with his poker straight hair too, I sometimes get inquisitive looks, but we honestly don’t know where the curls have come from! At the moment she loves them, (apart from when I’m brushing it through – thank you to the inventor of the Tangle Teezer for making this part of my day slightly more bearable!) although she keeps asking if she can borrow my GHDs and whether she can have pink GHDs when she’s 5, and she did get upset at swimming the other week when someone called her ‘spaghetti-head!’ I’m sure as she gets older she’s going to go through phases of not liking them so I’m making the most of it while she does!

My son hasn’t inherited the curls, but I didn’t want him to be left out if I’m talking about hair so here we go:

Pop on over to Tara‘s blog at Sticky Fingers to see the other ‘Hair’ posts!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helloitsgemma
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 13:38:53

    I so wanted a girls world too. Great photos

    Reply

  2. Crystal Jigsaw
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 15:11:51

    OMG! She is totally gorgeous. That hair is to die for! I always wanted curls like those – what a lucky little lady she is. My daughter is similar. She’s always had a lovely head of wavy hair and everyone wonders where she gets it from as my hair is fine, limp and lifeless – bit like Cheryl Cole’s, lol.

    CJ xx

    Reply

  3. Jules
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 15:32:40

    What beautiful hair she has! My eldest daughter had hair very similar at her age but now she’s nearly 9 it’s more wavy than curly 😦 She also wants me to straighten it for her and I keep refusing!! πŸ™‚ x

    Reply

  4. Multiple Mummy
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 17:59:35

    What beautiful children you have! We have all done that in the bath…haven’t we? he he

    I always wanted one of those dolls too and to make it worse my sister got one!

    Reply

  5. Katie
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 21:36:43

    I love the photo of your son! Very funny!

    Reply

  6. Mummy V
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 22:45:09

    Great photos. I am quite rubbish at doing hair and do worry about the kind of hairstyles I’m going to inflict on my daughter! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. tiddlyompompom
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 13:58:12

    I SO wanted one of those, but also never got one. My Sindy had her head shaved, and I cannot do a french plait to save my life. My poor kids are doomed…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

