The Gallery: Actually Trees Are Kind of Cool!

I guess Tara Cain might be very jealous of me for living so close to the heart of the New Forest. However, given this information, I’m probably running the risk of being barred from taking part in the Gallery when I confess that I’ve never been that bothered about the trees. Sure they’ve been there, but I’ve never been wowed by them, so this week’s theme really got me thinking. If someone can have a passion so strong for trees, then I must be missing out on something here, right? So over the past few days I’ve been really trying to pay them a little more attention, and I’ve been trawling through my photos looking for ones with trees in. My husband’s recently started watching programmes like Planet Earth and Wonders of the World too, so all of these things combined have forced me to start thinking about the natural world around me. This has led me to realise that actually, trees are kind of cool! So here’s some reasons why I’ve just realised that I do in fact quite like trees:

1. Walking through this arch of trees on my Wedding day was really special:

2. ‘Chees’ (and ‘Wowers’) are 2 of my son’s favourite things to look at, and will stop an impending tantrum instantly if he happens to see one. Thankfully, we have this fab picture from Next in our lounge:

3. It can’t be coincidence that both of my children’s first recognisable pictures have featured trees:

4. I say that trees have never particularly wowed me, but I remember the first time I saw these trees, and I got very excited. Every time I see palm trees they make me feel happy and relaxed as they remind me of being on holiday:

5. Being someone who only has to say the word ‘sun’ in order to burn, they help protect me when it’s hot, but can also form an excellent hiding place!

6. Our favourite family days always take us somewhere, where if you look around, has more trees than humans.

In addition to the above, I can’t forget the fact that as a child who grew up in the country, climbing trees was pretty much the only thing you’d find me doing if I had any choice. I wish I had a couple of the photos my mum has of me in the most dangerous of positions, and also, the Bramley tree in my parent’s garden keeps them and me in apple crumble all through the winter, and has done for my entire 31 years. Shame they don’t have a custard tree though!

It’s got to be said, even since I started writing this post, I’m thinking of more and more reasons why I should be giving trees a bit more thought. You’re right, Tara, trees are pretty amazing, thanks for making me think about it!