Me Time?

I thought it would be really nice to go out for a meal with my husband to celebrate my 30th birthday. Just my husband that is. We’ve been out quite regularly separately, or had people babysit for us, but it’s always been for something specific – a friend’s birthday, wedding, work do, you get the idea. We’ve also had our fair share of days out together on occasions in the school holidays if the children are at nursery, but I love that whole experience of getting ready for an evening out, making myself look nice, having a bit of a pampering session before etc. and that’s why I thought, ‘Right, my 30th, the ideal opportunity to have an evening out together.’

The thing is, I’ll be 32 soon and that night out hasn’t happened yet! It’s not like I’ve tried that hard to organise it, but that’s almost the point. Rather than being something that must happen, it’s more like an item on my bucket list (something I must do before I die if you haven’t seen the film)!

I only have 2 children and I know people with twice that who seem to get more done every 24 hours than I can achieve in a week, and I’m both jealous and after their secrets! They (I say ‘they’, I’m not exactly sure who I’m referring to) call it ‘me time.’ A time devoted to you and no-one else, when you can be ‘you’ not ‘Mummy.’ I wouldn’t say I crave it, but that’s probably because I don’t get time to in an average day. It’s just suddenly dawned on me as I was standing outside the room where my three year old daughter was attending her first ever dance lesson last week that that particular engagement has filled the one remaining slot on our weekly schedule that isn’t filled. Between dancing, swimming lessons, art and craft sessions, pre school, and the incredibly busy social lives that my children have, putting my own social engagements to shame, there really aren’t enough days in the week.

My friend bought me some gorgeous bubble bath for my 30th birthday. That really posh stuff that has a cork in it not a screw cap and I’m just longing to lie in the bath with it, but every time that opportunity has arisen, I’ve always opted to do something different, whether it be catching up on chores, or sitting down with the hubby to watch a film, which is great, but I’ve still not had the ‘me time.’

So can I really want it? Is it possible to crave something, yet never do it, even if you do have the chance? And why do I feel that I can’t enjoy it if there’s jobs that have been left undone? Do I have issues here, or is this just what it’s like when you’re a grown up Mummy? Don’t get me wrong, I’m not unhappy at all, I just don’t remember the last time I had a night out for no reason, or a night in to relax, with nothing on my mind.

Please tell me I’m normal…!

Sleeps until the kids’ first ever sleepover: 16!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. @Leafybear
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 14:35:14

    you will achieve it at some stage, it may even become a habit!

    Life is busy sometimes but think the children have a very ‘busy’ social life, it won’t hurt or harm them occasionally to miss 1 session.

    An old friend of mine gave me wise words when my 3 were all in various stages of education – “If you don’t start making time and doing something together, the children will have flown the nest and you’ll not know/enjoy/like each other or being with each other as you would have grown apart” – trust me they were wise words x

    Good luck in finding another slot x

    Reply

  2. (mostly) yummy mummy
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 14:37:14

    You are perfectly normal!! I promise! As happy as I am, this mummy business is pretty relentless and I would kill for some me time I really would! *sigh*

    Reply

  3. Katie Marlow
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 16:43:44

    It’s all normal – we’re all the same I think. me time is always replaced by other ‘priorities’.

    Although I am really looking forward to my train journey next weekend to see a friend all on my own – reading a book or a magazine on the train sounds like heaven. But knowing me I’ll end up doing some work….. 🙂 xxx

    Reply

  4. TheBoyandMe
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 19:52:05

    I know what you mean, ‘me’ time is always taken up with the washing or ironing. I haven’t read a book in 6 months! Although I blame twitter for that

    Reply

Leave a Reply

