“It’s a Fine Life!”

For those of you not so familiar with Lionel Bart’s ‘Oliver!’ the title of my post is named after one of the songs. It’s one of those feel good ‘always look on the bright side’ kind of numbers. Why? Well it’s getting near that point in the school term where I turn into Jack Black’s character in School of Rock and prepare to eject myself from the school building faster than the speed of light at midday tomorrow.

If you know anything about me, you know how passionate I am about my job, but as a music teacher, the run up to Christmas is the busiest time of year, with Carol services and school productions to organise in addition to the normal tasks a teacher has to do, such as writing reports, marking, chasing coursework, ย and, oh yes, teaching lessons (although to be fair, in the last week of term, this usually involves me connecting up my old PS2 to have Singstar competitions, only for the first half of the lesson to be taken up by the students marvelling at my beloved console as if it was an ancient relic found on the ark)! Unless you’ve actually organised these things, I don’t think it’s possible to understand quite how much work they are to put together, but I’m so proud of the students I teach at my school. They just get on with things, they don’t complain (honestly, they really don’t) when we make them rehearse things over and over, sometimes for 3 hours after school or on a Sunday. This meant that the three performances of our musical this week were just superb, a real showcase of hard work and achievement, and as a teacher I don’t think you can really ask for more. I’d love to put up some pics, but I’m sure you understand why I’m not allowed to. I will be waiting until they’re on the school website though and then posting a link.

So why will I be legging it out of school so quickly tomorrow? Well, while I have seriously enjoyed every minute of it (apart from the Sunday I spent at school with a sickness bug, that was messy!), I’ve hardly seen my own children. Last week’s Carol service was the first time that I hadn’t put my 20 month son to bed, and this week I have only put them to bed once. I know this isn’t that bad, but it’s just not how I normally am so I’ve really missed them. Yesterday, I arrived at school at 7:30am and I didn’t get home until nearly midnight, and the day before was similar. So I am really excited about being able to spend time with the children, and of course my husband – we’ve been like ships in the night too!

I’m excited that this will be the first Christmas that my son understands, and my daughter is totally obsessed with Santa this year too, but most of all it’ll be nice to have a rest, good quality play time with the children, and no thought of organising a school show, not until the next one in February anyway!

So this time tomorrow, if I don’t already have a large glass of vino in my hand I’ll be very surprised – the end is in sight!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiddlyompompom
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 13:33:21

    I have organised concerts and shows and know just how exhausting it is. Well done you for making it to the end of term ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  2. Louyorks
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 20:11:45

    I work in school too and SO know how you feel. Have a great holiday, we deserve it!! x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

