You know you’re a mummy when…

I love my life, but today has definitely been one of those ‘testing’ days in terms of motherhood! I blogged a while ago on my old site about whether I was finally a ‘grown up’ when I found myself considering asking for a kitchen item for Christmas, but concluded that I was okay seeing as I still had to stifle sniggers if a student in my class passed wind in an audible fashion! You can read that post here.

Today has reminded me a little bit of that Professor Layton game I played on my Nintendo DS a while back, in the sense that just as you think you’re getting somewhere, this puzzle gets in the way. The end is in sight, but it’s certainly not going to be plain sailing.

So today, I’ve had several of those ‘moments.’ Here goes…

You know you’re a mummy when…

You’re ordered out of your bed in the middle of the night and you just go. It doesn’t cross your mind to ignore it, like it would have before. This morning it was 3am and I was greeted with ‘Mummy I’ve done sick!’ Never before motherhood would I have calmly run the bath at this unearthly hour, washed hair, changed bedclothes, and kissed and cuddled a poorly anyone until they went back to sleep. (Don’t worry, I’m putting down what I was thinking during this whole episode as the bit that makes me human!)

You can’t even wee without something going wrong. In this case it was my son, who managed to completely wedge himself inside the back of a chair in those 30 seconds. Luckily he found the ordeal quite funny, giving me the chance to grab a quick snap!

You decide to quickly make some biscuits and instead of taking you 10 minutes, it becomes a 2 hour ordeal…

You go to the dentist and are prepared to pay for the stickers if they don’t have them ready and waiting for your petrified three year old! Despite having had ‘Dr. Elephant the Dentist’ on a loop for most of the morning I was unable to allay my daughter’s fears of seeing the dentist for the first time today. Luckily, all it took was a promise of a sticker of the seven dwarves and she turned into a little angel!

You haven’t eaten lunch, but dolly has. I was about to do myself some toast, when I was told in no uncertain terms that ‘Lola-Mads’ was starving must therefore be my priority. Once my toast had gone hard I somehow didn’t want it any more.

Despite having consumed nothing but 3 mince pies and some white mice today, I’m blogging rather than eating. Just in the mere hope that somebody somewhere will be able to let me know that I’m not going crazy and this is just in fact an average day, doing the best job anyone could ever have the priviledge to be able to do, because let’s face it, if this turns out to be groundhog day, I know I’m going to have two gorgeous gigglers and millions of hugs and kisses which make it all worth while ahead of me tomorrow – lucky me!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiddlyompompom
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 20:44:11

    OMG! I miss going to bathroom without having to leave the door open to hear shouts/worrying what I’ll find when I get back down stairs. Ah the joys 🙂

    Reply

  2. lucyhandprints
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 20:48:08

    oh you are so not alone. i have them all… and more.

    Reply

  3. PhotoPuddle
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 21:42:05

    Oh dear. All of this is way too familiar. I’ve spent the past week getting out of bed at various ungodly hours in the night due to little one not being well. I swear I’ve not actually been asleep but waiting with my eyes shut for the inevitable shout from her bedroom.

    Well done to your daughter for being so good at the dentist. My little girl was unfortunately not as good at her recent first vist, even though she actually went there holding her Dr Elephant the Dentist book!

    And sorry but I had to giggle at that photo of your son stuck in the chair. Glad he saw the funny side.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: You know you’re a three year old when… « itsamumsworld
  5. Itsamummyslife
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 21:11:50

    Haha not crazy just a mum! I’m with you on all those in particular the 3 am orders. Yawn…:)

    Reply

  6. Michelle Twin Mum
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 23:33:24

    Definately sounds like an ordinary day to me! Lets hope the weekend has been less taxing for you. Mich x

    Reply

  7. Peta
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 01:20:48

    love the pic of your little one stuck in the chair – hilarious!

    Reply

  8. Emma
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 21:00:18

    Oh my all of this is so familiar. Have spent the afternoon baking and realised I totally missed the tea time spot and then they were just too tired to eat.

    Reply

  9. Trackback: You know you’re a mummy when…

Leave a Reply

