The grass is always greener. Or is it whiter?

Well it appears that all I have to do is schedule a blog post to make my wishes happen! I started writing yesterday about how a little bit of snow would be just fab, having not seen it properly since I was 16… Here’s what I wrote:

“There’s ‘snow’ doubt about it (see what I did there?!), you always want what you haven’t got, and I want snow! I only ever seen proper, full on snow once, in 1996, when I was 16. The choir I sang with got through to the final of the Sainsbury’s Choir of the Year competition, which was held in Buxton.

A very youthful/geeky me (in the middle) in the days before digital photography!

Apart from my wedding and the births of my children, this was the best weekend I’ve ever had. We were staying in a youth hostel, there was no hot water and I had to shower given that I was about to be on TV, and I was 16 and expected to be up and out of bed by 6am, but it was fab because we had snow (and we won the competition)!

I keep seeing the pictures people are posting on Twitter and get such pangs of jealousy. I’m genuinely sorry that it’s causing some people real problems. I know some people are separated from their families because they can’t get into or out of homes, and it’s really bad for some people financially etc. I sincerely hope things get better for you soon, I wouldn’t wish those things on anyone, but a couple of snow days down south would be just fantastic.

We’re real wusses down here. This is the most snow my daughter has ever seen, and it caused my school (and most of the others in Dorset) to be closed for two days last winter, yes really, 2 days, and you can still see green grass!

I know I’m just a big kid at heart, but I can’t help it, I’d just love to be able to have a snowball fight and make a full size snowman. This is the biggest snowman I’ve ever made. You may think it’s not that feeble but it was less than a long ruler tall, and you can even see the bottom of the French windows!

So if anyone in, oh yeah, anywhere in the country apart from the South West would like to send snowy vibes our way, please feel free!”

Fast forward a few hours, and look what we woke up to this morning!:

So just to warn you, in tomorrow’s post I will mostly be ranting about why my numbers haven’t come up on the lottery yet! Happy sledging!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Whiter than White… « itsamumsworld

Leave a Reply

