A Weighty Issue!

I love food! Making it and eating it are both hobbies of mine, so it comes as no surprise that I am constantly watching my weight. I’ve been overweight since I started secondary school, but it wasn’t down to comfort eating from peer pressure. I did get bullied, but really it was  just kids being kids. It was horrible at the time, but lets face it, when you’re 11, ginger, brace-wearing, glasses-wearing, overweight and with the largest boobs in your class by a country mile, you’re not going to excape a rather large amount of ridicule are you?

So although my bad eating habits began at secondary school, it was more because I was able to by yummy doughnuts and pizza twice a day plus more if I wanted. My mum always gave me a healthy packed lunch, but I would supplement it freely without thinking about it. I never really did any exercise unlike most of my friends as all my extra curricular activities were musical, so I never burnt anything off. Consequently as I went through school the weight increased gradually so that by the time I went to University I was nearly 11 stone. At 5′ 5″ that was definitely more than I wanted to weigh.

University and all those happy hours meant that the weight went on even more. Most of my friends lost weight at Uni because they couldn’t be bothered to cook, I was the opposite so I ballooned to over 13 stone over the three years.

My first proper attempt at dieting was at the end of my Uni course, when I moved back in with my parents for the summer. My mum had been going to Slimming World and the idea of losing weight while eating unlimited pasta sounded good so I went along. It was a fab experience for me, supportive, nonjudgmental and most importantly, successful. Over the summer holidays I lost about 2 stone, taking me back to the weight I was when I started Uni.

However, I then began my teacher training with 5:30am get ups, 12 hour work days and then lesson plans, evaluations and marking to do when I got home. I found it almost impossible to maintain my student lifestyle with which I had become so accustomed! Consequently ‘Beer and Burger’ became a regular part of my routine and all my hard work was wasted as the weight piled back on again. I stayed with me until I finished my NQT year, when I got together with my now husband. It’s suffice to say that my weight has continued to yoyo since then. I lost weight for my wedding, put it on again, lost it again, you get the idea.

On the morning I had my son in 2009, I weighed myself (as every labouring woman does I’m sure!) and I tipped the scales at 14 and a half stone. Despite the fact that some of this was baby, it was enough to make me determined to never see that number again, so as soon as I had the all clear, I began dieting, swimming and going to the gym as often as having 2 children under 2 enabled me. By Christmas last year, I was lighter than I had ever been. I was 10 stone and had managed to lose 4 1/2 stone. I did this by signing up to Slimming World’s online service, and it was brilliant.

The trouble is, I’m one of those people who is never happy. For the first time in my life, I’m able to do up size 10 jeans, but I’m determined that I now want to be able to breathe in them too, so I’ve been doing everything to try and lose that last stone. Nothing seems to be working, I’m not gaining weight, I’m just not losing it, despite how religiously I stick to a diet. I’ve tried Slimming World more, low GI, Weight Watchers, the lot. Nothing. And given how much I love food, I’m not sure if there’s any point in dieting this much for no gain, so today begins my new plan. It’s plain and simple – I’m going to eat less! I’m going to follow my normal diet, but I’m going to half all of my portions. My breakfast was 20g of porridge not 40g, lunch was a sandwich made from 1 slice of bread not 2, for a snack I had 1 clementine, not 2. I’m hoping that if I’m only eating half as much, I must lose weight, mustn’t I? As long as I don’t continue my eating habits from this weekend, otherwise next weekend I’ll be consuming 2 pizzas not 4!

I’m sure I’m not the only one who is struggling to lose that last bit of weight, I’d love to know how you managed it so please talk to me!

Leave a Reply

